Book Reviews

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

IMG_2295Lara Jean wrote five love letters, one to each boy she has liked. She never intended them to be read, but one day those letters get sent. This leads to Lara Jean fake dating Peter, one of the recipients of her letters. 

When I first picked up this book I thought it would have a large focus on the letters, and figuring out how they got sent. After the initial plot set-up the letters are little more than an afterthought, Lara Jean doesn’t even try to figure out how they got sent.

Lara Jean is a rather immature character. She’s about 16 but she comes across like more of a 12-year-old. All of the characters could use some more fleshing out. If you asked me to describe the characters, I’m not sure I could. The way the characters are described and their actions don’t fully match.

The love aspect of this book is quite juvenile. Lara Jean’s ‘loves’ are more like crushes. It seems like she hardly even knows these boys she claims to ‘love’.

For me this was a book that while reading it I didn’t want to stop reading, and wished I had the second book, P.S. I Still Love Youso I could jump right into it. Now having spent sometime away from the story I lack that initial desire to jump right into the next book. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is not a story that stays with you.

My Rating: 3/5

1 thought on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han”

Leave a Reply

