Bookish

Favourite Classics

img_3299This week I thought I’d share four of my favorite classic novels. Normally I’m not a huge fan of classics, I find they’re usually tedious and a little hard to understand. Despite that there are so many classics that I want to read, and buy – especially the super pretty editions.

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

The Picture of Dorian Grey is about a young man who has a portrait of himself that allows him to remain young. With the discover of what the portrait does Dorian begins to indulge in his darker vices. 

The reason I like this book so much is that it poses a lot of great questions and opinions about morality and the human nature. Every time you read it you will discover something new.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

The Little Prince is about a small prince who visits a number of  unique planets before coming to Earth where he meets a stranded pilot. 

I like this book because it also poses a lot of great views on how life works. I also love the illustrations.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Alice in Wonderland follows a young girl who falls through a rabbit hole and into a strange and magical land. Alice meets a lot of wacky characters while navigating the strange terrain.

I love the Wonderland story and all of its retellings. There’s something I really enjoy about exploring strange characters and worlds. I actually enjoy the Tim Burton movie adaptations more than the original writings.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables is about a young orphan who comes to live on a farm. Anne has a wild imagination that leads to her causing a fair bit of mischief.

Anne of Green Gables is one of those stories I’ve known since I was a child.  I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love this story.

Comment and let me know what your favourite classics are.

 

1 thought on “Favourite Classics”

Leave a Reply

