Bookish

Preferred Genres

img_2296If you’ve been following my blog for a while you probably already know that I love to read young adult and fantasy/paranormal books.

 

In this post I’m going to try to explain why. Every now and then I’ll step out of my comfort zone and read a classic or a contemporary adult fiction, but I always go back to young adult books.

I’ve always had a love for magical things. I love exploring different worlds and seeing different takes on mythical beings. Some vampires are vicious blood suckers, others sparkle. Some werewolves can change on command, other only change during full moons. Every fantasy or paranormal story is different, each author creates their own unique world.

Being in my early twenties I find I relate to teen characters a lot more than I do to adult characters. In young adult books the characters are often trying to figure who they are and what they want to do with their lives, much like I am.

Adult fiction often focuses on characters that are 40 or older, and going through things that I’m no where close to experiencing. As much as I may like the stories, for me, they lack that connection that makes reading a book a truly great experience.

I also like romance novels. However, I find if you’ve read one romance you’ve pretty much read them all. Romances seem to vary among maybe three different plots.

Basically I gravitate towards young adult and fantasy/paranormal stories because I relate to the characters and love magic.

What genres are your favorites? What makes them special to you?

Leave a Reply

