Book Reviews

And I Darken by Kiersten White

img_3957And I Darken is the story of two aristocrat siblings, Lada and Radu. Their father abandons them to strengthen political ties. Alone in an unfamiliar land the siblings befriend Mehmed -the Sultan’s son- and the three of them form a triangle that challenges the bonds of love and loyalty.  

The pace of this book is very slow. I found it difficult to truly care about the story for basically the entire first half of the book. In fact, the first half of the book seemed almost unnecessary, all of the information that was essential for the story probably could have been covered in 2 or 4 chapters.

The last 50 or so pages are the best part of the book, the pace pick up a bit and plot finally gets a bit more interesting. The characters are also good. Lada and Radu are interesting and complex characters, their roles are quite fascinating. Mehmed is a good character as well, although by the end of the book I found that I didn’t care for him. He’s well written, just not someone I would want in my life.

My Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

